Announcements‎ > ‎

Postdoc positions

posted Feb 6, 2011, 3:33 AM by Pantelis Bagos
Postdoc positions in Biostatistics and Bioinformatics
Department of Medical Epidemiology and Biostatistics
Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm, Sweden

Applications are invited for several postdoctoral research positions in biostatistics and bioinformatics to work in the development and application of statistical methods for large cohort studies, family data and high-throughput omics data analyses.

Applicants should have a PhD degree in statistics, biostatistics or related discipline, and have strong interest in medical and biological problems. Previous experience in computational methods is an advantage. Successful candidates will have ample opportunities to work on both methodological as well as applied collaborative projects with medical researchers.

The Department of Medical Epidemiology and Biostatistics presently employ approximately
250 staff with 15 full professors and over 40 graduate students. The department is one of the biggest departments of epidemiology in Europe. Unique resources and prerequisites - such as the Swedish Twin Registry, several large prospective studies, ongoing nation-wide case-control studies, large nation-wide databases including the Cancer Registry and the In-patient discharge registry, record linkage capabilities and access to clinical data as well as biological material - are effectively explored at the department. Further information can be found at: www.ki.se/meb

The biostatistics group comprises 3 professors, 8 PhD-level statisticians, 4 masters-level statisticians, and 7 doctoral students. The group is involved in a wide variety of research projects, including population-based cohort and case-control studies, twin and family studies, survival analyses, predictive modeling, genetic epidemiology and bioinformatics.

Contact:
For further information regarding these positions, please contact University lector Keith Humphreys, e-mail Keith.Humphreys@ki.se , Professor Erik Ingelsson, e-mail Erik.Ingelsson@ki.se , Professor Marie Reilly, e-mail Marie.Reilly@ki.se or Professor Yudi Pawitan, e-mail Yudi.Pawitan@ki.se

Union representatives:
Camilla Lagerberg (SACO), e-mail camilla.lagerberg@ki.se Tel: 08-524 823 75,
Ann Almqvist (OFR/ST-AT), e-mail ann.almqvist@ki.se Tel: 08-524 861 99
Gunnar Stenberg (SEKO), e-mail gunnar.stenberg@ki.se Tel: 08-524 880 75.

Please send your application, marked with reference number 654/2011, to jobb@meb.ki.se or Karolinska Institutet, Åsa Misic, Box 281, 171 77 Stockholm, Sweden. Applicants should send a cover letter, curriculum vitae and statement of research interest and it will reach us by no later than 2011-03-11
Comments